Assignment 2

I have been happy with my blog name for a really long time, ever since I took it up sometime back in 2012 or thereabouts.  I think of ‘with brush and pen’ as an abbreviated description of the things that keep me balanced and help me navigate my way through things.  I make, paint, knit, draw, muck around, improvise, pull things apart and tinker. I try to write both for myself, and as an art historian.  So, I think I probably took a bit of initial inspiration from the old adage, ‘the pen is mightier than the sword.’  I think this resonates with me on a few levels, the idea that things can be resolved, dealt with, commemorated, expressed, communicated, and even preserved.

I don’t really feel the need to include a subheading at this stage, though I do see how it works so well for other blogs.  It’s not something I want to jump into lightly, and so I need to give it more focused thought.

About Melanie

Artist with penchant for art history. Knit-addicted maker of things. Finished a phD thesis on eighteenth-century art. Love for mythology, folklore, music, stories, the trivial, random and accidental. I frequently contradict myself.
This entry was posted in write and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

